Skip to Content

Press Releases

Dr. Joyce Leads HEAT Special Order Speeches on President Biden’s Energy Failures

“Innovation is the ultimate answer”

Washington, DC – Last night, Congressman John Joyce M.D. (PA-13) lead the members of the House Energy Action Team (HEAT) in a special order highlighting the Biden Administration’s failure to address our nation’s energy needs.

The special order covered a wide range of topics including the need for the United States to adopt an “All of the Above” approach to the energy industry and prioritize American energy independence. 

Dr. Joyce called attention to the need to allow American energy producers to innovate, instead of imposing regressive taxes that limit their ability to provide cost effective energy to the American people.

“Innovation is the ultimate answer to cutting emissions and we cannot afford to stifle advancement” said Dr. Joyce. “As a nation, we cannot tax our way to a cleaner environment.”

“As a result of the Biden Administration’s assault on American energy, jobs have been destroyed and families are paying more for everything,” said Congressman Allen. “Sadly, Democrats are marching full steam ahead with their $3.5 trillion tax and spending spree that will only further raise costs for households and chip away at our energy independence, to the benefit of our foreign adversaries. It’s time for Democrats to end their war on American energy and work with us on policies that will get our nation back on the road to energy independence.”

"The Biden Administration’s policies are damaging to American energy independence and security. Destroying American energy production under the false pretense that doing so is somehow saving the environment is nothing more than a mismatching of problems and solutions,” said Congressman Balderson. “Simply put, it is a disastrous display of virtue-signaling. We must reverse course and return to a path of American energy leadership."

“This Administration’s approach to energy unnecessarily threatens the safety and security of all Americans” said Congressman Bergman. “I joined my colleagues on the floor to urge this Administration to focus on real investments in American energy instead of policies that make us more dependent on foreign energy sources, destroy jobs, alienate American industry, and stifle the hard-working people who strive to keep our country the premier example of innovation and initiative.”

“Polysilicon, a crucial material in solar panel production, is heavily mined using Uyghur slave labor at the direction of the Chinese Communist Party,” Congressman Burchett said. “Joe Biden should think twice about how solar panels are made before lecturing Americans on the greatness of solar energy.”

“Democrat proposals will only lead to higher energy prices, reduce the reliability of electricity for many communities, and take away good paying jobs,” said Congressman Carter.

“We must invest in pipelines and refineries, harden our grid from cyberattacks, and cultivate innovation to ensure future success,” said Congressman Keller. “If President Biden is serious about ‘building back better,’ he should not be trying to destroy the domestic energy industry that will lead us to a better tomorrow.”

“The United States is the greatest country in the world, and we have the ability to once again achieve energy dependence, provide affordable and reliable energy for our citizens, and support our allies,” said Congressman Newhouse. “We just need our leaders to have these priorities as well.”

“Energy security is national security—and nothing can be more important. Anyone voting in favor of reconciliation is voting against American energy, is voting against the independence that keeps our national security so strong,” said Congressman Pfluger. “I urge my colleagues to support the energy industry.”

Watch Dr. Joyce’s opening remarks here.

Watch Dr. Joyce’s closing statement here.

The members of the House Energy Action Team who participated in the special order hour on Monday included Rep. Rick Allen (GA-12), Rep. Troy Balderson (OH-12), Rep. Andy Barr (KY-07), Rep. Jack Bergman (MI-01), Rep. Tim Burchett (TN-02), Rep. Buddy Carter (GA-10), Rep. Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), Rep. Fred Keller (PA-12), Rep. Jake LaTurner (KS-02), Rep. Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Rep. August Pfluger (TX-11), Whip Steve Scalise (LA-01), Rep. Tim Walberg (MI-07) and, Rep. Bruce Westerman (AR-04).


image description

Abbottstown Office

282 West King St., Abbottstown, PA 17301
Phone: (717) 357-6320

Altoona Office

5414 6th Avenue, Altoona, PA 16602
Phone: (814) 656-6081

Chambersburg Office

100 Lincoln Way East, Suite B, Chambersburg, PA 17201
Phone: (717) 753-6344

Somerset Office

451 Stoystown Road, Suite 102, Somerset, PA 15501
Phone: (814) 485-6020

Washington, DC Office

1221 Longworth HOB, Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-2431